top of page
Bob and Jang XA Award Logo



The Sponsors

The Bob & Jang/Xavier Academy Conservation Award is a celebration of those who champion the cause of conserving our planet's invaluable resources.

Bob Dobias and Suvimolmanee Dobias (Jang) who lived in Nepal in the late 1980s when they developed a strong and abiding affection for Nepal’s natural beauty and its crucial contributions to global biodiversity conservation, have constituted a conservation award jointly with Xavier Academy. The award seeks to recognize exemplary individuals or organizations working in the field of Conservation and Sustainable Development. The Bob & Jang/Xavier Academy honors the achievement and leadership of conservationists from Nepal.

Xavier Academy, established in 1997, is a pioneer institution located in the heart of Kathmandu, at Lazimpat.  Ever since its establishment, Xavier Academy has been providing an excellent academic environment conducive to the overall physical and mental growth of the students. Xavier Academy has kept on growing from strength to strength and has been consistently ranked amongst the top ten +2 institutions in the country


Nomination Process

  • The nomination period for the Bob & Jang/Xavier Academy Conservation Award 2023 is open from 15 August to 30 September. 

  • During this time, individuals and organizations can be nominated by third parties who recognize their exceptional work in conservation and sustainable development.

  • A third party can be any individual or organization that is not the nominee themselves. This can include colleagues, supervisors, mentors, peers, community leaders, representatives of conservation organizations, or anyone who has direct knowledge and experience of the nominee's work in conservation and sustainable development. Their role is to nominate and endorse deserving individuals or organizations for the Bob & Jang/Xavier Academy Conservation Award.

  • Self-nominations are not accepted.

All applications must include:

  • A completed nomination form with the name, address of two referees.

  • The referee should write the letter of reference indicating the contribution of nominee in the area of conservation and sustainable development (nominators should not be listed as referees).

  • Reference letter of nomination by the nominator.

  • Updated curriculum vitae (CV) with a list of published papers and links (if available) for individual nominees, or an updated company profile for organizational nominees.

  • Digital passport-sized photo.

  • Relevant supporting documents.

  • Short letter of motivation from the nominee.

  • A detailed description of the nominee's work in conservation and sustainable development, highlighting achievements, impacts, and contributions beyond their specific discipline.

Click on the button below complete the nomination form

Selection Criteria

Each nominee will be judged by the Panel of Judges for the following points:

  1. Impact of Nominee’s development work at the local or national level

  2. Leadership

  3. Sustainability of their work

  4. Intensity of the Nominee’s collaboration with organizations in accomplishing his/her goals.


Award Info

  • The award is awarded annually and consists of a certificate, Jury Citation and a cash award of NRP 100000. 


  • The award ceremony will be held in Nepal, Kathmandu on
    Tuesday, 31st October 2023.


Preserving Nature

Inspiring Change

+977-1-4530025, 9803419487   |   

bottom of page